Why am I an Oreo?

:courtesy of urbandictionary.com:

    >Oreo:  A black person who is regarded as having adopted the attitudes, values, and behaviors thought to be     characteristics of middle class white society, often at the expense of his or her own heritage.<

SO I dare to ask this question again, Why am I an Oreo? Why do you feel the need to call me a freakin cookie? I’m a little confused as to why for some odd reason you have the neverending obsession with comparing me to the likeness of a piece of food? With creme filling?? Is it because I choose to talk PROPER english? Maybe it’s because I wear clothes that fit and arent disgustingly revealing? I don’t know, is it the way i walk? The way you envy the fact that I was taught to save  my money and spend it on things that will perhaps benefit me in some way in the future? Is it because I think about my future? Is it because I have a job that I’m certified in? Is it because instead of me pretending to be “down”, i continue to be myself? Is it because I don’t live in the city? Is the suburbs not good enough? Is it because I was taught to say deficate and urinate instead of being vulgar and rude? Is it because when I had basketball games and recitals in grade school BOTH parents showed up? Maybe its because of the way I react to stressful situations? Did my grades influence your decision? Or the fact that I graduated from highschool when I was supposed to? DOES IT MATTER? NOPE.

I’m sick of it, I’m not an Oreo! I’m someone who was taught that first impressions last a lifetime. I am a product of a household that instilled in me early in life the importance of upholding my family’s name. Often I wondered when I was young, if being an Oreo was something to be proud of. I mean, everyone said it to me and I never really understood the significance of the word. Black people should really try to give our race credit where it is certainly due. Our race has been in the forefront of entertainment, music [side eye] , sports, and most recently politics amongst many other realms for many years now. It’s crazy to me that instead of saying ” Gee, that young woman is doing well, I’m proud she is helping to lay the foundation for our generation”..all I hear is “umph, she talks/acts SO damn white..effin Oreo”. Gee, thanks. Black Power… #fail.

#kanyeshrug..oh well, your either considered Souljah Boy or Collin Powell…fluck it.

One Response to Why am I an Oreo?

  1. sunnydelyte21 says:

    And proud you should be.

Leave a Reply

