This Can’t Be Life..

…”this can’t be life, this can’t be right”- Jay Z

I can’t make it…this can’t be it…. So let me get this right….you’re born, you work, you marry, you die? irefuse. irebuke. ideny that this is how my life was meant to be. The above picture shows the horrid basic evolution of how “life” should progress. I respect those squares that follow the standards and norms of society to a “tee”, but some don’t realize that this ideal is NOT meant for everyone. Not everyone has to go to college, get a good job, marry, have kids, and retire. That’s just not very appealing to me in the LEAST. # killyoself.  It annoys me when guys assume that because I’m single I must be miserable and a horrible person. Or that if I haven’t gone to college, I must be someone with low ambition. Far too often people tend to measure success based on things that are irrelevant to the value of life. Success IMO is making it through tough situations with grace, seeing my child live to see another birthday in good health, and having the ability to nurture and appreciate the relationships I have made with people in the course my life. There are a large number of people who don’t  follow societies norms in a traditional sense that have made major impacts…not everyone needs a template for life…I’ve decided to note a few reasons why following the “norm” will most likely not be for me….

I’m too stubborn to ever settle (for anything)..settling is for people that have stopped living. If there are no milestones to reach and no hills to climb there is absolutely no reason to even look for anything meaningful to happen…settling is what the chicks on Flava of Love…oh no wait…that’s just old fashioned gold diggin’. #Nokatstacks.

College is not for everyone…im not on being in debt, or loans, or studying. I tried it for two years…good grades. But in all actuality, college is a scam…yea, I said it. A BIG EFFIN SCAM. All the loans you have to take out, books you have to buy, years you have to waste…pointless. I can succeed in millions of other ways….I dont need 4 years of meaningless classes to prove how well I will fit in society. Damn that. Damn it all.

Because 20  years from now I’m going to look back and smile…I have lived, and lived the BEST way I saw fit. <—that’s what I’m going to say at 75, with my spiked lemonade, and newport light. YEP. #kanyeshrug. I do what I want.

I couldv’e sworn lived in a FREE country…where not everyone had to follow the cookie- cutter template of life. That’s insane. There a million and one ways to get to the top of the mountain, the man at the bottom is a fool for shouting his way to the world. I am fully able and capable of accomplishing my goals without having to live life inside of a box. Yep, It’s possible.

George Clooney and Oprah did it..

Exhibit A: George Clooney

1. Never married

2. Went to 1 year of college, dropped out to pursue acting

3. Wants no kids

Exhibit B: Oprah Winfrey

1. Never married

2. No kids

3. Multi-million dollar empire

Both of these examples show that although it doesn’t work for everyone. The norm is NOT necessarily the standard.

So ha! I DONT have to do things YOUR way. The End.

One Response to This Can’t Be Life..

  1. blackwatertown says:

    I salute you. It takes effort though – which is probably why most people just go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

